FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile       

video capture

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GEAR Software - CD / DVD Burning Software Forum Index -> GEAR Video
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Tue Jun 05, 2007 9:56 pm    Post subject: video capture Reply with quote

When I copied from my camcorder to a DVD, the sound quality was terrible. It skipped and had static. When I check the intermediate files, even the original capture file (AVI) sounded bad. Is this enough info for you to tell me what to change on my video capture to get a clean copy?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Szabo
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 522
Location: Jupiter, FL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 3:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Are you using a IEEE1394 (aka FireWire) connection to the camera, or is the camera conntected to an analog capture card using a/v cables (red, white & yellow/s-video)?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:08 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It's a firewire connnection.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Michael Szabo
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Apr 2006
Posts: 522
Location: Jupiter, FL

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 4:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Please fill in the following...

Computer:

Processor:
Hard drive capacity (free space):
How much content are you capturing (min > MB):

Camcorder:

Manufacturer:
Model:

There are no settings for the capturing dialog, as GEAR captures the content as raw DV and saves it to an .AVI file.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2007 8:25 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Computer:HP media center 864n

Processor: Intel Pentium 2.66 GHz
Hard drive capacity (free space): 143GB (57 GB free)
How much content are you capturing (min > MB): 45 min I think about 8GB

Camcorder: Canon ZR80
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neilwilkes
GEAR Guru - 500 Club


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 604
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Thu Jun 07, 2007 8:48 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Oh no - Not Media Centre.
What is running in the background when you are capturing?
Media Centre edition of XP is a bit of a hound, as it adds in all manner of codecs & media players that cause definite problems with serious authoring applications.

What I suggest you try here is to turn OFF everything you can possibly turbn off in the background:
AntiVirus applications
Internet
Firewalls
ANYTHING in the system tray you can seriously do without should be OFF.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 12:00 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I went through all the services and turned off everything I could (20-25). I also unplugged the network cable. Still the same results.

I noticed that when I play the video in the capture preview window, it looks and sounds fine. As soon as I click start capture, it starts skipping and when I play the resulting AVI file, it looks and sounds the same as the preview (with skipping). Is there any way to turn off the preview, and might this cure the problem?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neilwilkes
GEAR Guru - 500 Club


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 604
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 9:03 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Lets try a few things.
Firstly, XP MCE is notorious for things not working properly. ALl the major software companies advise against using this for Video & Audio work - they will all (Steinberg, Adobe, Sony, Focusrite, etc) tell you that MCE adds in stuff that just gets in the way. I have a Toshiba Laptop (for live work) that shipped with XP MCE, and when I installed my Nuendo & Vegas had nothing but crash after crash & problems with crackling - and this on just 8 audio tracks.
Remove MCE & Install XP Pro, it all went away.

Anyway.
HDD - How many do you have? I recommend a separate HDD (physical, not a partitioned drive) for capturing Video files to.
Also, when was the last time you defragged the HDD?
Services. This is a bad thing - do NOT, I repeat - do NOT fiddle with these unless you really understand what you have done. You save almost nothing in terms of performance, as it's not the services that cause problems but applications running in the background, often invisibly.
What services have you turned off?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jun 08, 2007 8:52 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Here's the services I stopped before video capture:
ATI Hotkey POLLER
Background Intelligent Transfer
COM+ Event System
Computer Browser
Distributed Link Tracking Client
DNS Client
Error Reporting Service
Fast User Switching Compatibility
IPSEC Services
Logical Disk Manager
Network Location Awareness (NLA)
Remote Registry Service
another burning application hard drive watcher
Secondary Logon
SSDP Discovery Service
Task Scheduler
TCP/IP NetBIOS Helper
Telephony
WebClient
Windows Time
Wireless Zero Configuration
WMDM PMSP Service

I also disabled NAV auto protect and disconnected the ethernet cable from my computer.
I have 2 HDD, but I use C: for everything and backup to the other. I defragged 3 months ago.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
neilwilkes
GEAR Guru - 500 Club


Joined: 17 Apr 2005
Posts: 604
Location: London, England

PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2007 9:33 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

l.a.richard wrote:

I also disabled NAV auto protect and disconnected the ethernet cable from my computer.
I have 2 HDD, but I use C: for everything and backup to the other. I defragged 3 months ago.


Don't just disable NAV - turn it completely OFF.
Also, use the second HDD for Video capture. NOT the C drive. Capturing to the OS/Applications HDD is literally asking your heads to be in several places at one time. Bad plan.
Re-enable to automatic the service Logical Disk Manager as well.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
l.a.richard



Joined: 05 Jun 2007
Posts: 6

PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2007 10:48 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I followed all your suggestions and finally got a clean copy. Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    GEAR Software - CD / DVD Burning Software Forum Index -> GEAR Video All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Copyright © 2010 GEAR Software, Inc. All rights reserved. Privacy policy.